Skip to content

Top Ten: Movies (10-6)

March 27, 2011

Believe it or not, picking ten favourite films wasn’t so difficult. Of course, there are some I am sad to have to leave out (they will get an honourable mention at the end), but I know that each of the films mentioned here are worthy of a spot in my personal top ten.

So, without further ado, say hello to numbers 10-6 in my countdown:

10. Finding Neverland

A beautiful film, featuring not only one of Johnny Depp’s best turns, but also one of the greatest child performances of all time from Freddie Highmore. Finding Neverland is about the power of imagination and is beautifully directed by Marc Foster, who strikes a perfect balance between reality and fantasy and creates a devastatingly wonderful ending which still makes me cry like a baby after numerous viewings. Probably the best compliment I can pay this film is that Kate Winslet, who I worship beyond words, wouldn’t even be amongst my top five reasons to love it; it is that good.

9. Kiki’s Delivery Service

If I’m honest, I could have picked any of Miyazaki’s films to take up a spot in this countdown. I chose Kiki’s Delivery Service because it was the first Studio Ghibli film I saw, and so holds a special place in my heart. It goes without saying that the animation is incredible, and Kiki, a young witch making her way into the big wide world, is one of the most charming heroines in film history. I have chosen the dubbed version for this countdown, because that was my original experience of my film, and I also happen to think a young Kirsten Dunst is the perfect choice for Kiki. Whether dubbed or subtitled, though, this is a film everyone should see.

8. Rent

Everyone is allowed at least one guilty pleasure in their top ten films, and this is mine. I am extremely passionate about Rent. Seeing it on Broadway on my 24th birthday was one of the best experiences of my life, and I make sure to see every amateur production of the show that I can reasonably get to. If you’re not a fan of the musical, you probably won’t enjoy the film, and there are many problems with the film that non-fans won’t be able to look past. The casting of many of the original Broadway performers may be special for fans for me, but won’t make sense to most others, given that it makes the characters around ten years older than they should be. To me though, this is one of the best musicals of all time and Chris Columbus does a great job of putting it on film. The casting of Rosario Dawson and Tracie Thoms is especially inspired, two huge fans of the musical who bring the passion and youth that the story needs.

7. Ratatouille

Ratatouille was the inspiration for this blog and isn’t just a must-watch for animation fans, but for all film fans. It is almost a perfect film with memorable, brilliantly-voiced, characters, a stunning screenplay and incredible animation. It is the sort of story that, on first impression, sounds a little insane but which somehow works on every single level. It’s a buddy picture, a touching romance, a comedy, and an adventure, with a hint of action and mystery along the way, and it inspires anyone watching to want to live out their dreams, no matter how outlandish. Just tremendous!

6. When Harry Met Sally

Hey, I’m a woman. It was either this, Dirty Dancing or Grease…and I think most will agree that I’ve made the right choice. The greatest romantic comedy of all time, probably because it’s one of the small few that actually lives up to the name and is romantic and funny in equal measure. Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal have never been more charming, and it’s directed by possibly the best filmmaker of the 1980s, Rob Reiner (Spinal Tap, The Sure Thing, Stand by Me, The Princess Bride and When Harry Met Sally…surely one of the greatest run of movies in Hollywood history?). If you haven’t seen it, watch it now, and fall in love.

Tomorrow: numbers 5-1. I know you can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 6:08 pm

    Dare I confess? I haven’t seen Ratatouille and When Harry Met Sally…:D

    I’m loving this blog!!

    • March 27, 2011 6:17 pm

      *gasp* You must rectify this immediately!
      And thanks, I’m loving writing it! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

