Skip to content

Bumper Cinema Round-Up

May 21, 2011

So, it would appear I have rather a lot of reviews to catch up on.  Oops!  Will try my absolute best to be better from now on, I promise.  So here goes, with my bumper cinema round-up:

Rio:

A fun watch, but almost instantly forgettable (I genuinely found myself trying to remember what I’d seen at the cinema that day on the very same evening).  The voice work is great (I would never have imagined Jesse Eisenburg could make such a convincing bird) and the city of Rio was animated to an incredibly high standard.  As a traveller who hasn’t yet made it to Brazil, I was on my Expedia app immediately trying to gauge prices.  It’s worth a watch and I found it infinitely more enjoyable than the Ice Age films (made by the same studio), but just don’t expect to remember it for very long.

3/5

Winnie the Pooh:

Yes, yet another animated film; this is what happens when you’re an animation geek and have a six month old baby to entertain.  I was actually extremely excited for this, and it didn’t disappoint.  It’s short, very sweet and surprisingly clever, and if you’ve ever been a fan of the Disney-fied Pooh, you’ll find a lot to enjoy.  Zooey Deschanel performs the soundtrack too, and there is NOTHING not to love about that.

4/5

 

Scream 4:

Definitely NOT one for my baby to watch.  I am a fan of the Scream movies, and I knew as soon as this was announced that I would be seeing it, but I always had that nagging question in the back of my mind: ‘why?’.  My hope was that question would be answered on seeing the film, but sadly not.  It’s watchable, an entertaining enough way to spend a couple of hours (though never even remotely scary), but it’s an addition to the series that just wasn’t necessary.  Attempts to make this as modern and ironic as the first installment came across as desperate, and in all honesty, the series is slowly becoming as ridiculous as those that it parodied back in the day.  This one is just about enjoyable enough to forgive, but honestly, the thought of Scream 5 makes me a little sad.

3/5

 

Hanna:

I love Joe Wright.  I mean, I really, really love him.  The camerawork in his movies astounds me and I could watch them all day.  I had been looking forward to Hanna for a good while, as the thought of him coming out of his comfort zone and doing a story as potentially interesting as this was very intriguing.  To be truthful though…I just didn’t get it.  Referencing fairytales at almost every turn, it looked stunning, so it lived up to my expectation in that respect. However, I truly couldn’t find much else to recommend it.  The story could be picked apart in about five seconds, Cate Blanchett (who, like everyone else, I usually love) was horrendous and the action was well-choreographed but quite boring.  Even the Chemical Brothers soundtrack was getting on my nerves by the end.  I cannot WAIT for Joe Wright to go back to where he’s comfortable with Anna Karenina.

2/5

Thor:

Now we’re talking…this is a film that knows its place and has a lot of fun with it.  Kenneth Branagh has created one of the best Marvel films yet; it’s funny, gloriously entertaining and corny in an entirely knowing way.  Actors of the calibre of Natalie Portman, Stellan Skarsgard and Anthony Hopkins look like they’re having a ball, and Chris Hemsworth is excellent in the lead role, pulling off funny, charming, sensitive and impossibly-strong-warrior-from-another-planet with ease.  Of course, as is so often the case with comic book films (and especially with The Avengers currently in production), this does feel like a bit of an ‘introduction to…’ rather than a full-on Thor adventure.  But hey, when you’re seeing alien warriors smash ice demons to pieces with a giant hammer, who really cares?

4/5

I also have two extended reviews to post, of Something Borrowed and Thirteen Assassins, which will come in the next few days, and stand by for the bumper DVD review which will also be along soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

