Skip to content

500 Five-Star: Airplane! (1980)

June 14, 2011

 

There’s a problem with watching a classic comedy like Airplane! for the first time at 27 years old: just about every joke (even in a film with as large a gag-rate as this) has been seen a million times in TV clip shows, documentaries and the like.  I knew the story, and even roughly when every joke would pop up.  However, it’s a credit to just how enduring a film this is that I still enjoyed every second and laughed out loud on multiple occasions, even at scenes that I could recite by heart.  At a time when the Scary Movie franchise, and the likes of Date Movie, pass themselves off as spoofs, it’s nice to remember that there was a time when they could be done successfully and even become classics in their own right.

Verdict:

It’s not perfect; for as many gags that hit the right note, there is an equal number that don’t.  But it’s still one of the most memorable and fun comedies in history, and for that reason it deserves…

*****  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nenadsuperzmaj permalink
    June 15, 2011 4:11 pm

    It’s one of those films that just keeps on giving. So crammed with details, tiny jokes, spoofs, references to the previous jokes… I love it!

    • June 15, 2011 9:04 pm

      I had a list once with every single joke in the film-I must look to see if I still have it because I know there’ll be ones that I missed. My best friend is pregnant and planning to use it as her early labour relief! 😀

Leave a Reply

