Skip to content

500 Five-Star: The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938)

June 20, 2011

 

The best thing about this 500 Five-Star project is that I am finally making the effort to watch classic movies that I would probably never otherwise bother with.  Robin Hood has been on my ‘to watch’ list for years and years, and if I’m honest with myself it most probably would have stayed on that list for the rest of my life.  How sad that would have been, because The Adventures of Robin Hood is absolutely brilliant.  I pretty much can’t pick fault with it.  It has everything a perfect swashbuckling adventure needs: a charismatic hero standing up against a powerful villain, a beautiful romance, superb swordfights, BIG production values, plenty of humour and just the right level of corniness.  Errol Flynn is magnificent as Robin, Olivia de Havilland is her usual luminous self as Marion, and the supporting cast all add something to the proceedings, no matter how small their role.  The score is one of the best I’ve ever heard.  The film is shot in Technicolour, and the vividity of the colours only heightens the fun.  I could go on, and on, and on.  It’s Hollywood at its best, absolute magnificence on every level.

Verdict:

I don’t want to be sitting here writing about it…I just want to go and watch it again.  Of course, it gets…

 

*****

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

