Skip to content

500 Five-Star: All the President’s Men (1976)

September 26, 2011

 

I can’t really pay a higher compliment to All The President’s Men than to say it reminded me of The West Wing.  I’ve somehow gone over fifty blog entries without mentioning my utter adoration of West Wing, the Greatest TV Show of All Time…but well, I think I’ve said enough in this one sentence to ensure you realise the magnitude of my comparison.  Admittedly though, it’s a comparison based on admiration rather than passion.  One of the many things that is great about West Wing is the writing; the ability to make in-depth political discussions both accessible and entertaining.  It’s this which really drew me into All the President’s Men.  The screenplay is magnificent, telling a complicated story in great detail yet still keeping me interested throughout.  Did I fall in love with the characters, the story, the film in general?  No.  In that way, it’s very different to West Wing (although of course, that had thousands of hours to draw me in, as opposed to two).  It’s possible that I’ll never make the time to watch it again; however, strong, high-quality production values, tremendous attention to detail and an intelligent subject matter mean I couldn’t fail to be impressed.

 

Verdict:

A definite classic of American cinema.  I can’t possibly disagree with Empire on this one.

*****

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

