Skip to content

500 Five-Star: Beauty & the Beast (1991)

October 20, 2011

Moving onto the Bs (hooray!) and I can even get away with being a bit lazy with this review, as I’ve already written about Beauty & the Beast here on Ratpatootie.  Here’s what I said then…

Maybe it’s because I’m so uncreative myself, but I just love the craftmanship and imagination contained in great animated films.  It’s a medium through which you can do just about anything.  Beauty and the Beast was the first animated picture to be included in the Best Picture nominations at the Oscars, and deservedly so.  It’s pure entertainment, looks beautiful and has such memorable songs which fit the story perfectly.  It also features my favourite Disney heroine, Belle, who is strong, intelligent and brave and was my idol growing up.

Really, there isn’t much more to say.  It’s the most gorgeous looking Disney film in my opinion (still, not a patch of Miyazaki’s work, admittedly, but you can’t have everything) and it never, ever bores me even though I can recite the whole film pretty much word for word.

 

Verdict:

An absolute no-brainer.  Some films are just timeless, and Beauty and the Beast undoubtedly falls into that category.

*****

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

