Skip to content

DVD Round-Up: 21 Jump Street, We Need to Talk About Kevin, Somewhere, Tin Tin: Secret of the Unicorn

September 5, 2012

21 Jump Street:

 

I’ve been going through a pretty bad time over the past few weeks (I suffer from both GAD and OCD, and the two combined have been sending me a little doolally of late), and when that’s the case, a film like 21 Jump Street is really a godsend.  It’s not a masterpiece, of course, but what it is, is a polished, clever, and seriously funny movie.  I was amazed by how much I enjoyed Channing Tatum’s performance, especially (HE CAN ACT!), but the whole film was really just a treat.  The best piece of switch-off-your-brain entertainment I’ve encountered in a long time.

4/5

 

We Need to Talk About Kevin:

 

…And now for something completely different.  We Need to Talk About Kevin, especially for someone like me with a young child, is a disturbing and impressive account of a tragic mother/son relationship, which, while a bit heavy-handed on the symbolism, is very intelligently done.  Tilda Swinton is reliably brilliant in the lead role, and as long as you can cope with a few sleepless nights afterwards while you overanalyse your own relationships, it’s a memorable and intriguing watch.

4/5

 

Somewhere:

 

Oh, I wanted to love Somewhere.  I did.  I love Elle Fanning, and I always have such high hopes for Stephen Dorff…and to be fair, they were both great.  The film as a whole, though, was just not as important as it wanted to be.  Like Sofia Coppola’s biggest (and best) film to date, Lost In Translation, it’s a story about a boring actor leading an unfulfilling life, but without Scarlett Johansson, or the city of Tokyo, to spice things up.  I’m tempted to hope that Coppola made ‘Somewhere’ boring on purpose, to really drive the message home to the viewer-but then I realise that would be pretentious beyond belief, and would probably make me dislike the whole thing even more.  Oh, and also? Chris Pontius (of Jackass fame) is a dreadful actor, and I do not care how realistic a hanger-on he may be: I do not want the bloke stinking up my film time.  Disappointing.

2/5

 

The Adventures of TinTin: The Secret of the Unicorn

 

Being a Spielberg dork of the highest order, I was very excited to finally see this (the combination of Christmas and motherhood making it impossible for me to catch it at the cinema on release), and thankfully, it didn’t disappoint.  Is it full-on, vintage Spielberg?  No, of course not…but it’s an exciting, fun, action-packed, humourous film, and most enjoyably, it actually makes a strong case for the benefits of full motion-capture (something which Robert Zemeckis completely failed to do in his efforts).  Simply, as with just about everything Spielberg puts his hands to, it reeks of effortless quality.

4/5

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

