Skip to content

500 Five-Star: Brazil (1985)

September 13, 2012

I very much wanted to love Brazil.  Sadly, it was not to be.  I liked it, I was intrigued by it, I was at turns amused and disturbed by it…but at no point was I even remotely close to loving it.  Part of this is down to the fact that I can be the most horrendous snob when it comes to films.  Low budget British films just don’t always excite me that much because they feel too much like something I might flick past on the TV while on the hunt for something more glamorous or exciting.  That’s not to say that it isn’t any good, but I’m a person that tends to need proper escapism on a regular basis, and that means something that doesn’t feel like it could potentially happen down my very own street.  The other, main, reason though is that Brazil is way, way too far from a great film for me to really fall for it.  While there are some very interesting and original ideas in there it all ends up becoming a bit too surreal, too crazy, too ridiculous.  It’s also very disjointed: lots of great characters and great scenes that never quite manage to come together and make a coherent whole.  Director Terry Gilliam has the ideas, but not the craft to make a film worthy of them.

Verdict:

Too long, too weird, too flawed.  Just not to my taste.

***

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 8:48 am

    I didn’t really like Brazil either. As you say, it was too weird.

Leave a Reply

